CEFTA: Support to regional integration



    The Central European Free Trade Agreement (CEFTA) is a regional free trade agreement, currently comprising Republic of Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Kosovo*, Moldova, Montenegro, Republic of North Macedonia, and Republic of Serbia. Over the last years, CEFTA has been able to remove most intra-regional tariff barriers for goods. With the adoption of CEFTA Additional Protocol 5 (AP5) on trade facilitation and the conclusion of negotiations of CEFTA Additional Protocol 6 (AP6) on trade in services, the region has at its disposal instruments for a further deepening of regional economic integration and alignment with the EU acquis. However, the operationalisation and implementation of reforms agreed at the regional level remains a challenge. This Action will therefore support CEFTA Parties with the cooperation of the CEFTA Secretariat in implementing its regional agenda on the facilitation of trade in goods and services. 

    ITC will primarily contribute to:

    1. Enhance the ability of those invovled in the operationalization of AP 6 (i.e. build the capacity of the recently appointed CEFTA Contact Points for Services; foster Intra-governmental cooperation among relevant agencies; and facilitate linkages between policy makers and private sector); and,
    2. Provide advisory support to all CEFTA parties with a view to improving compliance of domestic regulations and procedures with AP6.


    Sustainable Development Goals

    This project contributes to the following Sustainable Development Goals, as defined by the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development.

    ITC contact

    roure [at] intracen.org