Press releases

Shortlist announced for the 2016 Trade Promotion Organization Network Awards

16 November 2016
ITC News

(Geneva) – The International Trade Centre (ITC) today announced that 14 national trade and investment support agencies (TISIs) have been shortlisted for the 2016 Trade Promotion Organization (TPO) Network Awards.

The 14 TPOs nominated for this year’s awards are from Afghanistan, Australia, Austria, Bangladesh, Brazil, Chile, Costa Rica, Ecuador, France, Jamaica, Republic of Korea, Madagascar, the Netherlands, and Qatar.

The shortlisted organizations are competing in three categories – least developed country, developing country and developed country – and the winners will be announced during the 11th TPO Network World Conference in Marrakech, Morocco, on 24 November.

The TPO Network Awards – which are open to all national TPOs – recognize excellence in trade support services. They celebrate TPOs that excel in innovative and effective practices and procedures in export development initiatives. The organizations must also show that they respond to the needs of small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) by building their competencies to become competitive and sustainable players in international markets.

The Adjudicating Panel is chaired by ITC Executive Director Arancha González and includes senior representatives of the 2014 TPO Network Award winners.

‘TPOs and TISIs play a crucial role in driving trade and investment forward, and they are key in creating trade-led growth, development and employment,’ Ms. González said. ‘All the organizations on this shortlist have been nominated because of the difference they have made to trade and investment in their home countries. They have supported their SMEs to move forward in various ways, enabling them to trade more and compete more effectively.’


Least Developed Country Category


The Export Promotion Agency of Afghanistan (EPAA)


Export Promotion Bureau (EPB)


International Trade Board of Madagascar (ITBM)

Developing Country Category


Brazilian Trade and Investment Promotion Agency (Apex-Brasil)


Export Promotion Directorate (ProChile)

Costa Rica

Trade Promotion Agency of Costa Rica (PROCOMER)


Institute for the Promotion of Exports and Investments (Pro Ecuador)


Jamaica Promotions Corporation (JAMPRO)

Republic of Korea

Korea Trade–Investment Promotion Agency (KOTRA)


Qatar Development Bank (TASDEER)

Developed Country Category


Australia Trade Commission (AUSTRADE)


Advantage Austria


Business France

The Netherlands

Netherlands Enterprise Agency (RVO.NL)