Press releases

ITC and EEC team up to promote sustainable economic development

9 October 2018
ITC News
Partnership to benefit MSMEs in Armenia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan and Russian Federation.

(Geneva/Moscow) – The International Trade Centre (ITC) and the Eurasian Economic Commission (EEC) have announced a new partnership to strengthen sustainable economic development in Eurasian Economic Union (EAEU) countries.

The announcement was made today by Veronika Nikishina, Member of the Board (Minister) for trade of the Eurasian Economic Commission (EEC), and ITC Executive Director Arancha González, following the signing of a Memorandum of Understanding confirming the partnership.

The two organizations will be collaborating on improving conditions for enhanced international and intra-regional trade, as well as ensuring a more effective business environment in EAEU Member States.

The MOU establishes a framework of cooperation between ITC and the EEC and opens the door to joint events and initiatives that will benefit micro, small and medium-sized enterprises (MSMEs) in Armenia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan and the Russian Federation.

‘ITC is pleased to strengthen its partnership with the EEC and step up support for EAEU Member States in their efforts to achieve sustainable economic development. This partnership will help unlock untapped trade potential in EAEU Member States – and especially their MSMEs – and ensure greater economic growth,’ Ms. González said.

Ms. Nikishina said: ‘We are interested to develop a joint agenda with ITC and establish a new platform for deeper collaboration since we believe that our cooperation with ITC will encourage further economic integration in the Eurasian region.’

About ITC – The International Trade Centre is the joint agency of the World Trade Organization and the United Nations. ITC assists small and medium-sized enterprises in developing and transition economies to become more competitive in global markets, thereby contributing to sustainable economic development within the frameworks of the Aid-for-Trade agenda and the United Nations’ Sustainable Development Goals.

For more information, visit

About EEC – The Eurasian Economic Commission (EEC) is the permanent regulatory body of the Eurasian Economic Union (EAEU). Currently there are five EEC countries: The Republic of Armenia, the Republic of Belarus, the Republic of Kazakhstan, the Kyrgyz Republic and the Russian Federation. The main purpose of the Eurasian Economic Commission is ensuring the functioning and development of the EAEU, and developing proposals for the further development of integration.

For more information, visit

International Trade Centre
Jarle Hetland, Media Officer
P: + 41 22 730 0145
M: + 41 79 582 9180
E: hetland [at] (hetland[at]intracen[dot]org)